dcsimg

Wood haven router base. What set up do other door hangers use?

This topic contains 8 replies, has 7 voices, and was last updated by  DirtyWhiteBoy 3 weeks, 4 days ago.

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author

LBBuilders
    Pro
    VENTURA, CA

I am a finish carpenter in Southern California. I do all kinds of finish work but specialize and love swinging doors. Most of the time customers have pre-hung doors that need to be installed. Most pre-hung units come pre bored and prepped for hardware and I don’t need to get my routers. It’s when I need to do a re-hang (scribing a slab door into an opening) that I need my router. Over the years I have found my Bosch colt router is the perfect size and power for dapping in my hinges and prepping for hardware. While looking for a new base for the colt I came across the Wood Haven 8320 bushing plate.
    Man oh man, I love my little set up. The handles give me the option for more control while I am mortising the hinges. However, the base is small enough that I can use the router with one hand and still have complete control while mortising strike plates and smaller templates.
    The Bosch colt, Wood Haven base and a Freud router bit make mortising my doors a breeze. I would love to hear what set up you other door hangers use.

LBBuilders
    Pro
    VENTURA, CA

Since I specialize in doors I wanted to set up this forum to see what other door hangers used as far as their routers and planers. So I had to post a picture of a door planer I just picked up. It is the porter cable/Rockwell 126 heavy duty. It is the go to planer for the guys who taught me doors. I don’t think porter cable makes these brand new any more. I know you can find them online refurbished. This planer is the cats pajamas and is worth every penny. Let me know what’s your go to planer for doing a re hang.

Attachments:

jponto07
    Bloomington, IN