dcsimg

What got you in Woodworking

Viewing 20 posts - 1 through 20 (of 59 total)
  • Author
    GTokley
    Pro
    Belleville, ON

I have been wanting ask this question. Whats got you into Woodworking?

What got me into woodworking? I always wanted to do woodworking. But figured I wouldn’t be very good at it. Once I got my own place I bought a jig saw, circular saw and table saw. I then borrowed my brothers 12 1/2 planer and 4 inch joiner. I built a few projects. Then once I seem to have kids I want to build more projects for them. Then I started buy more tools since 2012. So I now have a list of projects to build. So really I would say I have been woodworking for the last 6 years.

Greg
    Do More of What Makes You Happy

Doobie

HS shop class and later NYW.

MrFid
    Pro
    Sudbury, MA

Shop class, then wanting to save some money on furniture when we bought a house, but not wanting to buy cheap particleboard junk from department stores.

My wife and I have always loved wood – the grain patterns, the figuring, the textures. After pushing wood all my career but in the paper form, I wanted to build things with my hands. Woodworking gave me an outlet to do just that and to allow creativity in design. I concur with MrFid, not wanting to buy junk, making your own furniture for yourself and others is a worthy endeavor.

theamcguy
    Pro
    Fayetteville, NC

Same here shop class in high school. Really liked it.

Automotive Pro
    Fayetteville, NC

I enjoyed shop, but I was a cocky little jerk, and had the attitude at the time (which I know is wrong) that the trades were just for those who couldn’t hack it in a “real” profession. How wrong I was.

For me, what got me into woodworking was my father and grandfather. They could (or so it seemed) build or fix anything. When I got my own house, I was useless, but my dad would help out a lot. So, I paid attention and realized I wanted to be self-sufficient as the “man of the house”