dcsimg

Stilla's Life of Finish Carpentry.

This topic contains 123 replies, has 24 voices, and was last updated by  JimDaddyO 7 months, 2 weeks ago.

Viewing 20 posts - 1 through 20 (of 124 total)
  • Author

Stilla
    Pro

I have been in the trades for 16 years. I started out sweeping floors, I am now the lead carpenter for a high end builder. Five years ago I struggled to accomplish any finish work. Today I have been awarded with 5 Home Builders and Remodelers Association of Connecticut awards, HOBI awards. The awards are a big deal, in my state, hundreds of people showcase their work, hoping that their jobs are selected to showcase the best talent in the state.

I have been a finish carpenter for 5 years, I am 38 years old, and this is my life of carpentry showcased in the images i capture.

Stilla
    Pro

the first coat of paint has been applied, the shiplap is a shade of gray between the trim paint and the walls. i love the hanging fixture.

Stilla
    Pro

What did i do today? closets.

Building a coat closet system in a mud room, it’s 6 feet wide and 6 feet tall to the top of the closet poll.The 5 shelves will be 32 inches long by 13 inches wide. The top shelf is 6 feet long by 15 inches wide. I like to lift the shelving carcass, so the baseboard can run under it. I think it looks more finished. Most people would rather have the space back, but there is a practical reason for doing it this, first it’s easier to build, 2nd it separates the shelf from the floor. Floor dust and dirt won’t get on your stuff. And its easier to clean around. The face frame is 1 inch and 1/2 . 

we ran out of baseboard,but we have an open house, so i tacked scraps of baseboard to the shelving unit to mock up what i was doing for the public.

WoodsConstruction
    Pro
    Sudbury, ON

Great work. I’m looking forward to following your future projects.

Love the modesty.

Love the modesty.

Come on now, he is proud of his work.