dcsimg

Scroll saw motor getting hot

Viewing 16 posts - 1 through 16 (of 16 total)
  • Author
    GTokley
    Pro
    Belleville, ON

Hey guys, I have Delta 16 inch 40-560 Scroll saw and motor is losing power and is getting hot. I haven’t had chance to look at it. I use much and was used when I bought 3 years ago. So I wondering what I should look for.

Thanks

Greg
    Do More of What Makes You Happy

MrFid
    Pro
    Sudbury, MA

I’d check the brushes. If you bought it used they might be about out of life which would maybe be responsible for the power drop. I’m not a motor expert, though. Check the bearings as well if you end up taking it apart. Induction motors are fairly simple beasts with only a few places where things can go too wrong.

58Chev
    Pro
    Etobicoke, ON

Also, Greg if it’s the open type motor sawdust will get in.

If you have a compressor with a blower end, use that to try and blow out what you can before changing out the brushes.

“If you don’t pass on the knowledge you have to others, it dies with you”
    — Glenn Botting

Sprokitz
    Pro
    Eastern shore of, Pa

Yes, won’t hurt to blow out the motor, and the switch too. But, have you done periodic lube ? There’s a few places that need lube inside the cover. If the mechanics become stiff, the motor works harder, gets hotter, loses power and eventually fails. If you have the manual it should be in there. If you don’t have the manual, I’ll hunt one down.

Sprokitz
    Pro
    Eastern shore of, Pa

Here’s a manual. Might not be exact model you have but lube points should be the same.
    http://documents.dewalt.com/documents/English/Instruction%20Manual/Delta/En1346925.pdf

GTokley
    Pro
    Belleville, ON