dcsimg

Milwaukee M18 Cordless 18 Gauge Single Cut Shears – REVIEW

This topic contains 19 replies, has 12 voices, and was last updated by  zarabrink 3 months, 4 weeks ago.

Viewing 20 posts - 1 through 20 (of 20 total)
  • Author

bbernardesjr87
    Pro
    Mississauga, Ontario

Hello everyone,

This is my review and personal experience with the Milwaukee M18 Single Cut Metal Shears.
    I have been using this tool since 2015 while I was working in Australia as a metal roofer, metal wall cladding, guttering, etc.

It was launched at the 2014 New Product Symposium. I can ensure you they are lightning fast, you can cut through metal after all(they have kinda offset blades design), they are a lot faster and much safer than hand tools.
    The “TRUE SHEARING”/cutting action is consistent and smooth, If you’re already invested in Milwaukee’s M18 RedLithium batteries, this is a really easy choice for sheet metal applications.

In fact most other metal shears, the head can be rotated to provide better cutting angles and access. What’s different here is the method of holding the head in the desired position; instead of using an allen key, you can press on a “tab” and rotate the head 360 degrees without the use of tools. There are index points every 30 degrees so the head can be locked into any one of 12 positions.

This tool is a sigh of relief for professionals that frequently cut through sheet metal. Hand tools, while effective, seem rather stone age in an era where we are pushing the limits of cordless boundaries. Other corded and cordless options are available, but are still awkward ergonomically. Milwaukee’s design keeps your wrist in line with the tool, leading to less soreness. A 360º degree rotating head means that you can still find an efficient working position from just about any angle.