dcsimg

Review; Bosch CSM180 Metal Cutting Circular Saw

Viewing 20 posts - 1 through 20 (of 44 total)
  • Author
    Anonymous
    Inactive

I do a lot of metal work and after years of using what I’ll refer to now as the old fashion methods of cutting by using an abrasive chop saw, recip saw, jigsaw, hack saw and a torch/plasma cutter. Although these methods still have their specific uses, I decided to give one of these new fashioned metal cutting circular saws a try. Then when I came across this cordless one I thought that’s even better, Any cordless tool is a great idea but only if it performs like a corded one.

When I first took it out of the box I was surprised at how small it is, It looks and feels like a little toy. Since this is my first time using a dry metal cutting circ saw I guess I really didn’t know what to expect but was a bit skeptical already, So I put on the blade it came with and slid in the nearest battery which happened to be a little 2.0 for a test run. I viced up a short length of 1″ angle 1/4″ wall mild steel and made my first cut, I hardly felt any resistance and couldn’t believe it actually went through it so quickly. Nothing like what ya feel with an abrasive wheel.

Next was a 1″x 1/2″ mild steel, A 1-3/8″ pipe with 3/16″ wall and a 2″ square tubing with 1/4″ wall used for hitch material. All went surprisingly smooth with only the drop-off (right side) having a tiny burr just at the very end of the cut, I’m sure that’s due to it falling off. The left side was as clean as could be, It didn’t quite reach all the way through the 2″ square tubing even though it’s rated 2″ at 90*. Maybe I didn’t have it square on the little piece I was cutting, But I think I did..