dcsimg

Question about insulation

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author

I am a home inspector in Arizona and recently ran across a new variation on attic insulation. The home was owned by a stucco contractor who used 1 inch thick Styrofoam, that is used when applying stucco to a house, as attic insulation by breaking it up into small pieces no bigger than 2 inches across and filling the attic space to a 4 to 6 inch depth with the material. My question is, how effective is this for an R-value ? I would guess that the Styrofoam pieces that are loosely stacked leave too much air space between the pieces to provide a good insulation material. Am I right or wrong ? Thanks in advance for any answers

I am a home inspector in Arizona and recently ran across a new variation on attic insulation. The home was owned by a stucco contractor who used 1 inch thick Styrofoam, that is used when applying stucco to a house, as attic insulation by breaking it up into small pieces no bigger than 2 inches across and filling the attic space to a 4 to 6 inch depth with the material. My question is, how effective is this for an R-value ? I would guess that the Styrofoam pieces that are loosely stacked leave too much air space between the pieces to provide a good insulation material. Am I right or wrong ? Thanks in advance for any answers

Welcome to BTP , I know that here in Montreal Quebec, it’s definitely not to code , I’m pretty sure it’s not a typical practice either.

@Chad
    @Miamicuse and anyone else who might be able to answer your question.

RonW
    Holladay, Tn

Can’t say I have seen it done.
    And don’t believe foam used in this way would offer much in the way of insulation. I would agree that unlike a solid piece, broken pieces of foam provide no resistance to air flow. I doubt it would provide much of an R-value, since air can easily pass through the broken/cut pieces of foam.

Ron

A Working Pro since 1994!

Member since March 26, 2014.

roninohio