dcsimg

Practice for new welders

This topic contains 49 replies, has 29 voices, and was last updated by  Anonymous 1 year, 4 months ago.

Viewing 20 posts - 1 through 20 (of 50 total)
  • Author

DrCoolhand
    Pro
    McAllen, TX

As an instructor, I deal with a lot of complete beginners. Some have never seen welding up close before. So I hope to help those who are trying on their own and possibly learn something myself.

Outside of just welding on a flat piece of steel over and over again, there are a few projects that we can do to focus on different aspects of welding. Hopefully later I can post some videos on how I accomplish these goals.

But this is one of the first things we have all of our students do.

In these pictures we’re welding with GMAW, or mig, on mild steel. 2″angle iron, 6″long. There are 4 layers, and 10 individual beads stacked in the “groove.”

One of the reasons we have students do this exercise is to a) save money for us and b) put a lot of welds in a small area.

Eventually you make it all the way flush with the top, but you get the idea. This is a good exercise for GMAW, SMAW, GTAW, FCAW, or anything else you want to weld with.

Yes, my name is Luke. No, you are not my Father.

Moze
    Dallas, TX

Welding is something I’ve never had the opportunity to try or learn but would like to…

Resident Sign Guy

staker
    Pro

I have a stick welder but still need a lot of practice, I like the welding iv the angle Iron Thanks have to try that.

I like that idea you do with the welding . How long is the class you teach .

Always willing to learn .

DrCoolhand
    Pro
    McAllen, TX

We typically have full semester, once a week, 8 hours a day classes. So if you take 3 classes, you’ll see us for 3 full days a week.

Lots of time for practice.

Yes, my name is Luke. No, you are not my Father.

cranbrook2
    Pro
    Belgrave, Ontario , Canada