dcsimg

Let’s Talk Wire Nuts

Viewing 20 posts - 1 through 20 (of 63 total)
  • Author
    joesainz
    Keymaster
    Chicago, IL

I bet if you ask 10 different electricians about their favorite wire nuts, you would get 10 different responses. Personally, I love the 3M Performance Plus – they grip like a bear. Now we need 9 more electricians to share their favorites 🙂

BillTip
    Pro

To be honest I don’t really care too much. we tend to use the cheapeset though so I dunno

Joe,

As you know I’m a carpenter / remodel-er not an electrician but I do a fair share of removing or moving electrical wires, switches and outlets.

I have to admit I walk out to m truck to look at the box. I use Gardner Bender products because that what is sold locally at my lumberyard.

No issuers holding and I like to tape my wire nuts.
    Anyone else agree on the taping or is it overkill?

~ Rob at http://www.ConcordCarpenter.com

JimH
    Pro

i know some people who are very particular about their wire nuts but I am not that way. As long as it can get the job done correclty I will use anything

pgc555
    Pro
    Gilberts, Illinois

I like to tape the wire nuts also. i use a lot of strand wire and insures you don’t have just one stray strand sticking out of the connection. It only takes one to short or become a fire hazard

Wire Nuts are a Dime a Dozen (I wish), but I tend to prefer the ‘Tan’ colored ones that work for most wire sizes. But if you’re talking ‘Wire Connectors’, everyone needs to know about Gardner Bender’s PushGard connectors. They are a life saver when you find a wire that is too short in the box you’re working on. They can really get you out of a pinch. You can pigtail on a longer wire by simply press fitting the connector on the short stub. They lock on Tight!

Dfdc
    Pro