dcsimg

Learning Sketch Up

This topic contains 21 replies, has 14 voices, and was last updated by Profile photo of Kyle kswiss 4 months ago.

Viewing 20 posts - 1 through 20 (of 22 total)
  • Author
    Profile photo of Greg
    GTokley
    Pro
    Madoc, ON

This year I am going to make another attempt to learn Sketch up. I have some many ideas I would like to put on paper. But sketching with pencil & paper is not the fasts way for me doing this. So I was thinking if I get a chance to sit in from of the computer I could do a little bit each time in Sketch up. Yes I know there is tutorials to watch. Just wonder how you forum members did to learn Sketch up?

Thanks

Greg

Profile photo of Tom
    TopNotch
    Pro
    elmwood park, NJ

I am not a pro by any means and I never spent time doing tutorials but I can do quite a bit on SU.

Just messing around with it. A lot of it becomes understanding the planning or layers. Even if you know how to do something or what does what if you forget something after a bunch of layers it can be a pain.
    Use tutorials as you go for specific tasks you get frustrated with. Otherwise it’s information overload.

Working Pro since 1993

Tom M

Profile photo of Bailey
    MrFid
    Pro
    Sudbury, MA

I agree with TopNotch. Use the tutorials when you can’t figure out how to do something in a reasonable amount of time. They are helpful but I prefer to learn it by messing around. One thing I’ll say is that it’s helpful to stick with it for a while. I spent a few months working with Sketchup for 15-20 mins each day. This was very helpful for me for remembering how to do things. I had previously tried to learn it to use for a job at a time, and I’d forget how to do things.
    One other point is that it’s a long learning curve. You’ll probably never know how to do everything instantaneously with Sketchup, so don’t be shy with using your tutorials even after you feel like you know what you’re doing. Good luck!

Profile photo of Chad