dcsimg

Leaks in brick wall due to missing drip edges?

Viewing 19 posts - 1 through 19 (of 19 total)
  • Author

I’m an architect, not a contractor. But more relevant to my question, I’m a homeowner who’s trying to figure out the best way to address leaks that are happening at some window heads of my condo building.

One masonry contractor that has reviewed the building is convinced that the lack of drip edges at thru-wall flashings of the parapet wall copings is the main culprit for leaks. He mentioned having seen a video that showed how rainwater can easily get under the flashing and into the wall when the drip edges aren’t present. (Fyi, the wall construction is brick veneer over CMU, with no air space. Not ideal as it is, I know. The building was constructed in the late 1990’s.)

Four other masons have also looked at the building. Between them they have various ideas about what’s causing the leaks and what should be done about it – but NONE of them brought up this concern about the drip edges at the coping flashings.

My own understanding on this issue is that drip edges are of course “best practice” for thru-wall flashing, but that they aren’t crucial, and that leaks are definitely not inevitable without them. After all, drip edges been omitted from countless buildings historically, including in recent decades. But I don’t have the practical experience that a mason does – and I haven’t, for example, seen the video that the one mason mentioned.

Would appreciate any insight people might have on this.

ChadM
    East Palestine, Ohio

I could see that the lack of drip edges could be the issue but I agree that it does not make leaks inevitable. Would you happen to have any pictures?

Chad

A Working Pro since 1993

Member since 12/07/2013

kurt@welkerhomes.com
    Owatonna, MN - Minnesota

A couple of photo’s would be helpful.