dcsimg

How do you accept payments for work you do?

Tagged: , ,

This topic contains 62 replies, has 1 voice, and was last updated by  JimDaddyO 2 years, 12 months ago.

Viewing 20 posts - 1 through 20 (of 63 total)
  • Author

jim_hunt17
    Pro
    Milwaukee, WI

I am slowly starting to pick up more and more side jobs outside of my regular building maintenance job. I am doing some small advertising on local websites and word of mouth stuff and I am getting a lot of work out of it. My major issue is that I do not have a way to accept debit/credit cards. With many people not having cash on hand anymore, I have had to make sure people have cash. I was accepting personal checks until one bounced and it cost me more in bank fees than the job was worth. I recently ordered a square reader that plugs into my Iphone so I can accept cards. https://squareup.com/ I am a little leary of it. Does anyone have experience with this? Or for those of you that own your own business, how do you accept payments from customers?

Jim H.
    Milwaukee, WI

DirtyWhiteBoy
    Pro
    Honolulu,, Hi.

The cash is only as far away as a bank machine and over here they are all over the place. I’m like my bartender,,,I like cash.

Dirty

A Working Pro since 1988!

Member since January 26, 2013.

Jummul
    Pro

I’m very small time so most of this isn’t a problem for me. However, for the occasional job that I do I never accept cards. It’s either cash or bank. If the bank transfer doesn’t get to me (or they don’t do it) I’ll send a reminder after 30 days. If they still don’t pay I’ll pay a paralegal to help me and I include the cost of the legal support on their bill.

Has happened only once luckily because involving legal stuff makes sure you never see them as a customer again!

kurt@welkerhomes.com
    Pro
    Owatonna, MN - Minnesota