dcsimg

How did you get your started in your career?

Viewing 20 posts - 1 through 20 (of 25 total)
  • Author

What led you to your career?
    Did you have prior experience?
    How long did it take to build confidence in your abilities?
    Were you ever in an apprenticeship?
    Will you ever hire an apprentice and pass on your knowledge?

Life is 10% what happens to you, 90% Attitude.

MrFid
    Pro
    Sudbury, MA

My career is not in the trades, but I too am curious about how people came to be tradesman. If I were to become a tradesman I’d say I have plenty of prior experience at this point haha. I have worked with a few contractors over the summer in years past to be a helping hand, but it was not a formal apprenticeship. I look forward to hearing people’s stories, though.

My career is not in the trades, but I too am curious about how people came to be tradesman. If I were to become a tradesman I’d say I have plenty of prior experience at this point haha. I have worked with a few contractors over the summer in years past to be a helping hand, but it was not a formal apprenticeship. I look forward to hearing people’s stories, though.

What do you do for work currently?

What led you to your career?
    Did you have prior experience?
    How long did it take to build confidence in your abilities?
    Were you ever in an apprenticeship?
    Will you ever hire an apprentice and pass on your knowledge?

I was an incompetent worker, but with a good work ethic, personable, and reasonably smart.
    The project manager quit and I had the opportunity to step up
    Nobody had a problem with it, since I was not very good – no loss to them
    Turns out, I’m a good project manager
    Been doing that for over 20 years now.

Over the years, I’ve had great mentors, and I’ve mentored some great kids – some of whom have far surpassed me. Thats a great thing.

TopNotch
    Pro
    elmwood park, NJ

I worked with family as a little kid that was self-employed.