dcsimg

Half inch router bits

Tagged: 

This topic contains 31 replies, has 12 voices, and was last updated by  Doobie 3 years, 8 months ago.

Viewing 20 posts - 1 through 20 (of 32 total)
  • Author

Toolshead
    Pro
    In the Rice Fields, South TX

I made my first redemption a couple of months ago for a router and router table. The main reason was that the Bosch router is ½ inch.

Now I’m in the market for some half inch router bits. Does anyone have some good leads on half inch bits that one can get without breaking the bank?

I’m looking for a pretty standard assortment of straight, bearing guided trim, dovetail, and roundover bits. I work with all kinds of woods, but recently it seems to be mostly cedar. Also looking at spiral for the table – I’ve never used spiral before. I did read http://bethepro.com/forums/topic/spiral-router-bits/ and lots of other stuff on them.

I haven’t come up with any specialty bits either yet to take advantage of the half inch capability of the router. Is there anything unique that you guys use?

kurt@welkerhomes.com
    Pro
    Owatonna, MN - Minnesota

there are a lot of bits on the rewards list. I rarely buy 1/4″ bits unless I can not get what I want in 1/2″ bits.

I have a lot of specialty bits for handrails, rail and stile doors, panel cutters, ogee’s, etc that are all 1/2″ bits. The Bosch bits have performed well for me, I probably have more of them than any, Freud and CMT are also great bits.

jponto07
    Bloomington, IN

Unique? Not really… But it is handy to have a wide assortment.

I buy mostly CMT and Bosch bits as they are available locally and are very reliable. The aren’t cheap, but they aren’t the most expensive either. Of the 150 or so that I’ve ever bought, I’ve broken 1…and that was on reclaimed wood that had a nail in it that I failed to remove.

Jon P.
    Timber Carpentry & Construction
    https://www.facebook.com/timbercarpentry/
    Instagram

jponto07
    Bloomington, IN