dcsimg

Frozen hot water pipe from Hot water tank help! :S

Viewing 20 posts - 1 through 20 (of 36 total)
  • Author
    utopia78
    Pro
    Toronto, ON

Ok, so with the crazy cold weather I’ve found a problem. Our building has two hot water tanks, one on the hot water pipe out has frozen just above the tank. Should I use a hair dryer to thaw it? We have the room temperature up now also as not to freeze again.

Reminding you I don’t have many tools at my disposal here but any tips would be great

A Working Pro since 2004

jponto07
    Bloomington, IN

What type of piping is it? I would be certain there is no damage before attempting to thaw it out…the ice could be holding back a flood! I’m no pro at thawing pipes, but I would think you would want to relieve pressure on both sides of the frozen section before taking a heat gun to the pipes.

Jon P.
    Timber Carpentry & Construction
    https://www.facebook.com/timbercarpentry/
    Instagram

Do you know if there is a another frozen pipe some where else in the building .

Always willing to learn .

DirtyWhiteBoy
    Pro
    Honolulu,, Hi.

Reminding you I don’t have many tools at my disposal here but any tips would be great

Call the land LORD!

Man that’s just all kinds of messed up!!!

cranbrook2
    Pro
    Belgrave, Ontario , Canada

Whenever my pipes freeze I use a small propane torch to thaw the pipes and it takes a bit of time but always works .The only thing is keeping the flame away from any wood which isn’t a problem for me .

crotalusco
    Pro
    west bend, wi

Is it the “In” from the line or “out” to the fixtures?

raising room temp will help if not solve the problem with time, If a hair dryer is all you have then thats what you use. Other options would be a heat gun, a torch “avoiding connections”, wrap with a heat cable and of course insulate when its flowing and you sure there was no compromise of the line.

TopNotch
    Pro
    elmwood park, NJ