dcsimg

Drywall mud ..

Viewing 20 posts - 1 through 20 (of 42 total)
  • Author

Ive been doing mudding for many years both here in Canada and back in Scotland. I have always used a fast set compound to start with the gauze tape first then move on to the drywall mud as soon as I have all the fast set done, but only just recently I have started to do two layers of fast set and noticed an marked improvement and speed of the finish. You just have to make sure you knock down all you high spots and rough areas before applying the second layer of the fast set. (Durabond or whatever)

What do others here do?

Carpenter and Joiner

Joiner ... a person who constructs the wooden components of a building, such as stairs, doors, and door and window frames.

Carpenter ... cutting, shaping and installation of building materials during the construction of buildings, ships, timber bridges, concrete formwork.

1970 ... to present.

roninohio
    Pro
    New Franklin, OH

I personally still use paper tape. I have had to repair jobs that used mesh tape due to hairline cracks.

jponto07
    Bloomington, IN

Same here. I fill and tape with Easysand (45/90) then hit the joints the same mud again. After that I use the blue lid lightweight and then a topping compound for the final coat.

FibaFuse on all of the flats and paper in the corners… It is more forgiving if I hit it with the joint knife.

Jon P.
    Timber Carpentry & Construction
    https://www.facebook.com/timbercarpentry/
    Instagram

ChadM
    Rogers, Ohio

I use hot mud (durobond) for everything except the final coat, then I use bucket mud. I use FIBA Fibafuse on my flat joints and Perfect 90 on my inside corners.

Chad

A Working Pro since 1993

Member since 12/07/2013

I use hot mud (durobond) for everything except the final coat, then I use bucket mud. I use FIBA Fibafuse on my flat joints and Perfect 90 on my inside corners.