dcsimg

Concrete Curing. Best methods discussion.

Viewing 20 posts - 1 through 20 (of 40 total)
  • Author
    Doobie

Hey gang. I was using up over 40 or so bags of concrete I had that was over a year old the other day, and while Sakrete tech support said I should be OK in that their stuff is at least good for a year if kept protected, I wanted to really do what I can just in case it was nearing its useable life and do everything I can to maximize what I could do for its curing after I poured a smallish 6′ X 4′ exterior exposed pad for a NG generator I’m gonna plunk on it for my house for when we get any kind of power outage.

I’m not a pro, just a DIYer, and it’s hard at times to find the right advice on the internet to anything reno-construction and discern what is in fact good solid advice and what is just pure crap.

Today in fact, I was searching for advice on this subject beyond what info I read on the side of one of the Sakrete bags and on their website I used, and the advice on curing in general on the internet was really all over the map when it came to curing concrete, even on sites I can’t join like CT. But I did come accross this excellent industry association article on the subject I wanted to share.

http://www.nrmca.org/aboutconcrete/cips/11p.pdf

I was amazed at some of the aspects on proper curing, longevity benefits of proper curing, and just the whole gamut of info on this issue. Very informative.

As a result, I also set up a self curing set up for my two day old pour that is almost hands free more or less for the curimg process for me.