dcsimg

cleanest way to wire a panel?

This topic contains 80 replies, has 37 voices, and was last updated by  gdhaywood 2 years, 8 months ago.

Viewing 20 posts - 1 through 20 (of 81 total)
  • Author

Tyraps? Slack? Loops? Show pics or explain your method. Im very particular and work for a guy who is even more so. If money was no object, what would you do to make a panel look sexy?

kurt@welkerhomes.com
    Pro
    Owatonna, MN - Minnesota

Install everything nice and neat, bend wires at right angles and avoid they typical spider web effect. I have seen panels that look like artwork and others that look like a birds nest. the only wiring that is seen in most houses is in the panels so make it look good. I have also seen EMT conduit work on jobs that looked like artwork. I have a lot of respect for the talents of electricians that can make it look that way.

jponto07
    Bloomington, IN

I’m not an electrician, but I’ve learned a thing or two about how to keep a panel clean.

I like to keep all of the wires loose until the last one is ready to connect to the breaker. This makes it easy to organize the wires into flat, straight groups and keeps them from crossing over and under each other. It also ensures that wires are cut to appropriate lengths. I try to keep as much slack in the wire as possible and still be able to tuck it in the box neatly–loops are a great way to accomplish this, especially witht the feeder wires.

I agree with Kurt about electricians making art with their work. It can be impressive how neat wires /EMT are laid out.

Also, welcome to BTP @kmann3737!

Jon P.
    Timber Carpentry & Construction
    https://www.facebook.com/timbercarpentry/
    Instagram

Some areas it won’t pass if wires are all over place in panel . Really don’t take that longer to make a panel wired clean .

Attachments:

Always willing to learn .

kurt@welkerhomes.com
    Pro
    Owatonna, MN - Minnesota

Now that is how a panel should look, everything neat and orderly.