dcsimg

Clamps? What's your favorite?

Tagged: 

Viewing 20 posts - 1 through 20 (of 221 total)
  • Author
    gomoto69
    Pro
    salmon arm, bc

Clamps seems to be one of those things i have trouble with, i bought a bag full from canadian tire, (should have known better) of the 6 clamps, 3 still work, never seem to have enough, and the ones i have usually end up an inch too short (story of my life)! What do you guys use? Is there a best ‘bang for the buck’ brand? Are the old school pipe clamps still the best? I’m a hobby woodworker, passes the time when i’m not up north working,

If I could afford them, I would have parallel clamps. Those quick clamps are almost as expensive, so I don’t have any of them either.

I use pipe clamps a lot. Buy a couple at a time when they go on sale. I have a couple of different lengths of pipe, so I can switch them back and forth. My pipes are threaded on both ends, so with a pipe coupler I can make them really long if I need to. Hmmmm, there’s a video about that somewhere 🙂

I have a bunch of F clamps too, some are Canadian Tire ones. They work, I have some others from the surplus store. I keep losing the little plastic pads for them. Someday I will epoxy on some wood pads. I have a few really old F clamps and they really clamp. Gotta watch for putting dents in, so use a caul.

Which brings me to……gluing up a large piece trying to hold the clamp in place, a caul at both ends, and align the parts. Tricky with a one man operation. I use painters tape to hold the cauls in place on the piece.

My You Tube channel: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCA5AretE3xPoVDV61AxUdUA

I don't do a fast job. I don't do a slow job. I do a half fast job.

Austin
    Pro
    Covington, KY

Not the cheapest but you wont ever have a problem if you get some german made bessey clamps, the china made ones you get at the big box stores are decent too.

smallerstick
    Pro
    North Bay, ON