dcsimg

BTP Review – Makita 18V X2 LXT Plunge Cut Saw (XPS01PTJ)

• This topic has 46 replies, 19 voices, and was last updated 1 year ago by Doobie.
Viewing 20 posts - 1 through 20 (of 47 total)
  • Author

About a month ago, I was able to pick up the new battery powered track saw from Makita. Model XPS01.

Before getting this cordless track saw, I had been using the corded model SP6000 for a few months, and really liked it, but was frustrated by always getting caught on a cord. The corded model was picked up on a great deal, so I basically bought two rails (118” and 55”) and got the saw for free.

So, when I saw a reasonable price for the cordless in a kit (saw, two Makita-branded classic Systainer cases, two 5.0ah batteries, and a two-bay rapid charger), I jumped at it. I already had a few tracks (having also picked up the shorter 800mm Festool track, and a second 55” track (this one from Festool)

When I got the saw, it was pretty much a clone of the corded model, save for having two battery bays around the motor casing. Same clip on the shoe to lock into Makita rails (the only feature you can’t use with Festool or Triton rails, otherwise they are identical), Same preset to cut at 2mm depth to make a first mini-cut to get a nice clean edge on a cut.

Right away, I put it to use cutting 2” furring strips from ¾ ply. A half dozen sheets worth of strips later, and I was already impressed. The feel of the saw in use is identical to that of the corded model, and somehow the power level seems to be more than that of the corded. I would also put the power level above that of the Festool TS55. I guess 36v coming from dual batteries lets there be serious power discharge, and an efficient brushless motor lets the tool use that power.