dcsimg

Brazilian cherry question

Viewing 20 posts - 1 through 20 (of 36 total)
  • Author

I went to a local flooring store today to price some brazilian cherry. I am planning to start my upstairs. The store did not have any and the guy proceeded to tell me that they only harvest this would about every 3 years. This didn’t sound quite right but I am not sure. Has anyone ever heard of this before?

RonW
    Holladay, Tn

Never herd that one before. I’d say he was feeding you a line of BS.

Ron

A Working Pro since 1994!

Member since March 26, 2014.

staker
    Pro

I think you should check with other supliers

That is not true. Maybe he meant to say that they only get it every 3 years. I have 4-5 different suppliers in my area that have it.

Orange County, CA

Supplier has to order it . Doesn’t keep it in stock . Last Time I purchased Brazilian cherry floor for a living room and diningroom in wasn’t stock . Wish I could find those install pictures .

Always willing to learn .

jkirk
    halifax, nova scotia

same here. brazilian cherry is a special order item. my cousin just had african walnut installed at their place and it was a 15 week wait

heres a tip, dont fart in a space suit

@fishguy3 hope you are able to find a supplier near you that has it – it would be really fun to see how the new floors look!

John S

KenW
    Pro

Wow.. 15 week wait on lumber. Slow boat to Africa.

EthanB
    Pro
    South Kingstown, RI

He’s full of it. Jatoba isn’t a threatened species. Lumber Liquidators probably has a million feet of it just sitting around.

I would never buy from LL by the way. I was just making a point.

Thank you for all the feedback.

jponto07
    Bloomington, IN