dcsimg

Belt Sander

This topic contains 91 replies, has 41 voices, and was last updated by  smallerstick 2 years, 6 months ago.

Viewing 20 posts - 1 through 20 (of 92 total)
  • Author

RonW
    Pro
    Holladay, Tn

Whats everyone’s favorite 3×24 belt sander? I have been using a Porter Cable 504 sander for many years. But today the armature decided to let go. Parts are really hard to come by for it any more.

Ron

A Working Pro since 1994!

Member since March 26, 2014.

cranbrook2
    Pro
    Belgrave, Ontario , Canada

I have used mostly Makita and they well built and heavy duty sanders .

woodman_412

I have a Porter Cable as well that I’ve used for years and I’m very happy with it. I also use a Makita and I like it too. I think the Makita is a little lighter weight than the PC but the PC has variable speed which is nice as well as better dust collection that can easily be hooked up to my vac.

Dan

danpattison.com

redwood
    Pro

I don’t seem to use belt sanders that often any longer, with the bigger and better orbital sanders, as well as portable planers. With that said, I have a Bosch that has stuck around a long time.

Mark E.

Pioneer, CA

Working Pro 1972 - 2015
    Member since Jan 22, 2013
    www.creative-redwood-designs.com

kurt@welkerhomes.com
    Pro
    Owatonna, MN - Minnesota

I have a 4x 24 craftsman and a 4 x 24 PC. The craftsman is probably 30 to 35 years old, the P C is only a couple. We use them mostly for scribing or cleaning up plywood joints on floors before installing floor finishes.

brianpeters
    Pro
    Murray, KY

It’s too embarrassing to say what kind of belt sander I have . But it was really cheap and does what I got it for. I very seldom use it.

kzcarp
    Pro

I don’t think I’ve ever used a 3×24. I have a Bosch 4×24, and a PC 3×21. Scribing and cleaning up rough spots in subfloor, easing transitions. Not so much for finish wood working anymore with the better orbitals available.