dcsimg

18v Bandsaw & 18v Grinder

Viewing 13 posts - 1 through 13 (of 13 total)
  • Author
    Dustincoc
    Pro
    Madrid, NY

There is a free gift(4.0Ahr battery & charger) with purchase of select Bosch bare tools through the 28th of this month at Lowes(unsure of elsewhere).

I’ve been planning on picking up the angle grinder(GWS18V-45) for a while, and I’m highly considering the bandsaw(BSH180B) as well.

Usage will be mixed weekend warrior type stuff. Grinder will be mostly automotive in the near term, as I’m putting together what I need to do a major rust elimination(i.e. rocker replacement, and wire repainting the entire underside.) Might also be used to cut thicker metal occasionally for blacksmithing and metal fab. Possible brought to work when I have a big repair that’s planned ahead, but that’s maybe once or twice a year(millwright type work, I’m an equipment operator in a recycling plant, and we tend to do most of our own mechanical repairs, and have the company mechanics handle the electrical/hydraulic issues). I’ve got a corded Hitachi 4.5″ that’s taken a beating for years. Hoping to lighten it’s load with both items.

Bandsaw main use will be cutting small solid bars(max 1/2″ Sq) for forging into hooks, ans cutting sheet metal(same thickness as an electric box is made of, I’ve got a pile of 4u rack covers from a data center project 8 years ago I’m still cutting up) for making brackets and sheet metal type things.

Thoughts on both tools?

I don’t think either is brushless, but given my usage, I can afford a lesser battery life. I’ve already got (2) 4.0Ah, (4) 1.5Ah batteries, and only 2 drills(1 let the smoke out couple years back but somehow still works and it’s replacement), a IDH-182 impact, and a Powerbox 360S. I don’t really use the radio much, since I’ve got a Bluetooth speaker in the shop.

Shop Blog: http://ravenbarsrepair.tumblr.com/
    Youtube Channel: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCz498FKw9LF1awJsKIqhoxQ