dcsimg

Japanese vs Western Handsaws

This topic contains 28 replies, has 7 voices, and was last updated by Profile photo of Dan woodman_412 1 year, 3 months ago.

Viewing 20 posts - 1 through 20 (of 29 total)
  • Author
    Profile photo of Dan
    woodman_412

Do you prefer a Japanese or western style handsaw? What makes you like one or the other or both?

Profile photo of Jeff
    jkirk
    halifax, nova scotia

good topic dan, ive been using japanese saws for about 8 years now. i use japanese saws more often, mostly for finish work type cuts. i have the lee valley folding model and a cheap one for siding in my siding bucket buddy and a silky gomboy folding saw in my interior trim kit. their amazing.. they cut very fast and very clean with a tiny kerf

the only thing i use a western saw for anymore is cutting icf block. western sawa almost feel alien to me now that ive been using japanse saws so long

putting down subfloor with glue and screws, so i called dr smith and the robot too!
    Profile photo of Dan
    woodman_412

I’m with you Jeff. I very rarely use a western style saw. Japanese saws are so much more efficient and make a better cut. I have the folding Lee Valley saw too in my tool bag and I have the rip tooth dozuki that I use in my shop. The only thing I prefer about a western saw sometimes is how the handle registers in your hand. I have a Lie-Nielsen dovetail saw that is a very nice saw but I usually end up using the dozuki instead just because of how it cuts. Cutting on the pull stroke just feels natural now.

Profile photo of John S
    supimeister

how much do touch-up do you do after using the japanese hand saws?

John S
    Profile photo of Dan
    woodman_412

A lot of times no touch up work. In the case of cutting dovetails the cut line is the finished line. The fine Japanese saws produce such a fine kerf and clean line that if you cut accurately on your line there is no need to touch it up.

Profile photo of Jeff
    jkirk